STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from stupidd.blogspot.com !

Bruce Springsteen – The Wrestler


I always leave with less than I had before. You’ve seen me. Bet I can make you smile when the blood hits the floor.

– Bruce Springsteen

I’m an old broken down piece of meat and I deserve to be all alone, I just don’t want you to hate me.


Randy ‘The Ram’ Robinson:
(Robert D. Siegel – writer)


This fine track – the title track from auteur Darren Aronofsky’s brilliant new film, The Wrestler – rightly won the Boss a Golden Globe last week for Best Original Song.

A brooding, powerful meditation on a flailing, failing soul, performed in a simple and pared down style, it’s another sublime Springsteen song.

We’re shocked that this fine song won actually, since in these award shows, it’s usually the worst piece of shit dirge that wins (and usually by the likes of cretins such as Celine Dion!)

This time, the representative of that ridiculous ilk – “I Thought I Lost You” by Miley Cyrus (yes, Miley fucking Cyrus! Oh, the horror!!) and Jeffrey Steele – very thankfully lost out!

Of course, the amazing Mickey Rourke also deservedly won a Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture for his role as Randy ‘The Ram’ Robinson !

Mickey really brings the character to life and imbues him with deep complexity as well as great vulnerability. Physically too, of course, Mickey’s many hard years in his own life, and his long crazy stint as a pro boxer, have written their trails onto his face and body, as would have been the case for the character he portrays – Randy ‘The Ram’ Robinson!

All we can say is thank fuck Nicolas Cage (once a very good actor but, for many years now, not so, and actually nowadays a Jonah for any movie) who was originally slated for the role, was for whatever reason gently pushed aside from the project by Aronovsky in favour of Rourke.

It’s great to see Mickey – a man who pissed his preternatural talent away for decades – back where he belongs! Hopefully the Oscar will be winging its way to him in a few weeks!

The Wrestler is a wonderful film, typically well directed by Aronofsky from a fine script by Robert D. Siegel, with Rourke’s towering performance a standout, but with great support work too from Marisa Tomei (who we’re normally not big fans of!)

Marisa sure looks good for a chick who’s just turned 44 and does some very fine gyrating work as a stripper … sorry, “Exotic Dancer” … or “Erotic Hooker” … or some phrase that means stripper!
Very convincing performance too …. not that we’d really know, not having ever been in a Strip Club (… well, not today anyway!)! Maybe Marisa tread the boards in one of the clubs during those very lean years there after the “Cousin Vinny” limelight faded many years ago!!

We’re only kidding Mr. Attorney for Maria Tomei! Only kidding!

Anyway, here’s a trailer for the film;

Bruce Springsteen and Mickey Rourke go back a long way! They first met at the Stone Pony back in the eighties and soon after became motorcycle cruising buddies in 1989 and 1990 when Springsteen was living in Los Angeles, CA.

Rourke owned a short-lived club in Los Angeles called Rubber Club, and Springsteen is known to have made two onstage appearances in that club; on 10 Mar 1989, he joined local band The Mighty Hornets for one song (CC RIDER) and, on 25 Apr 1989, he joined an unidentified local band onstage for one song – (STAND BY ME).

"The Wrestler" theatrical poster from IMP Awards "The Wrestler" theatrical release poster

According to film director Darren Aronofsky, Springsteen is a huge fan of Rourke’s. He’s seen every movie of his and he was hoping for him to get back on track making movies. He was following him and he wanted to know about his projects, but the two “haven’t been in touch during Mickey’s lost years”.

Rourke sent Springsteen a letter and a copy of the movie script. In May 2008, Springsteen called him in the middle of the night and told him that he’s in touring in Europe, and said that he “don’t know if I can do this, but if I can, I’ll try something.”

Patti Scialfa, Bruce Springsteen, and Mickey Rourke at the 66th Golden Globe Awards ceremony

Springsteen was presented with his Golden Globe statuette last week by some Amazonian Indian called Sting.

In his acceptance speech, Bruce briefly talked about how the song came to life:

“All right! This is uh… the only time I’m gonna be in competition with Clint Eastwood, I know that for sure [laughs]. Felt pretty good, too! [giggles]

Anyway, Mickey called me in Ireland and he asked me for uh… some music, he told me a little bit about the character, he said some people invest themselves in their pain and they turn away from love and the things that strengthen and nurture their lives. He said this was a guy that didn’t figure… hadn’t figured that out. So I said, ‘Well, I know a couple of those guys…’

And so, the song. So… first and foremost, I’d like to thank Mickey. Without the call I wouldn’t have written the song, without his inspiration. Thank you brother, for a beautiful performance, thank you. Thank you for thinking of me!

Um… like to thank Darren and all the folks involved with the film for letting me be a small part of their picture, thank you. Uh… love to my strong and lovely wife Patti, and hello to Evan, Jess, and Sam at home. Happy birthday, Big Man Clarence Clemons!”

Springsteen wrote THE WRESTLER in Europe during the Magic Tour, sometime between late May and early July 2008. In July, he called Rourke and Aronofsky complimenting them on the movie and adding that he wrote a song for the film’s character.

Rourke and Aronofsky went to see Springsteen in concert at Giants Stadium in late July 2008. Rourke introduced his director to Springsteen who picked up his guitar and proceeded to play his new composition. “I literally got stage fright,” Aronofsky told MTV. “I never knew what stage fright was! My chin just went down, and I said in my head, ‘Oh my God, I’m freezing up in front of Bruce Springsteen.'”

Aronofsky told MTV, “Then we started talking, and then he played the song, and it was amazing. And he’s like, ‘I don’t know if it’s good yet.'” Then Springsteen offered the song for free.

The song came while the movie was at the end of its editing phase. This late addition caused the movie’s screening debut to take place at the end of the Venice Film Festival.

On THE WRESTLER, Springsteen handles guitar, piano, and vocals. Director Darren Aronofsky described it as “a wonderful acoustic piece; makes me choke up every time I hear it. [Springsteen] really captured the spirit of the film and Mickey [Rourke]’s character in the piece.”

The song, as heard over the film’s closing credits, opens and closes with a long coda, clocking at 5:25.

However, the track will be released in a 3:50 edited version on the Boss’s Working On A Dream album.

Yes, the song is included as a bonus track on the Springsteen’s excellent new LP Working On A Dream which continues on where 2007’s fine “Magic” left off.

We saw some good stuff about the Working On A Dream LP on another blog.

THE WRESTLER, the album’s third single, was officially released on 16 Dec 2008 at the iTunes Store, in advance of the film’s U.S. major cities openings in the subsequent days. This is the album version with the edited opening and closing codas.

The song was also released, but in its unedited form, on a US-only 1-track promotional CD-R issued exclusively to Academy Award voters by film distributors Fox Searchlight Pictures for consideration in the Best Original Song category. The CD-R comes in slimline jewel case without artwork [see scan below (right)], and contains the full, unedited 5:25 version of THE WRESTLER with intact piano outro.

Like we wish for Mickey, we hope that, in a few weeks, the Boss follows up his 1993 Academy Award for “Streets of Philadelphia” with another one for this marvellous track!!

How Mickey Rourke Got Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Wrestler’ Song — For Free ‘

Mickey wrote him a very long, heartfelt letter,’ director Darren Aronofsky says of Golden Globe-winning song.

By Garth Bardsley, with reporting by Kurt Loder

www.mtv.com

Finding music for a film isn’t typically an actor’s job, but in the case of Bruce Springsteen’s theme song to “The Wrestler,” which won a Golden Globe last night for Best Original Song, the Boss has actor Mickey Rourke to thank for adding yet another trophy to his collection. In a conversation last month with Kurt Loder, Rourke and “Wrestler” director Darren Aronofsky shared how they convinced Springsteen to pen the tune — for nothing.

“Mickey knows the Boss from years ago,” Aronofsky said, “but they haven’t been in touch during Mickey’s lost years. … And Mickey wrote him a letter — a very long, heartfelt letter — and sent him the script.”

Obviously Rourke — who also won a Golden Globe last night, for Best Lead Actor in a Motion Picture Drama — was willing to put his heart and soul into making sure “The Wrestler” would succeed. In what is being considered a major comeback for the once-forgotten actor, the role is now making him a favorite for an Oscar nomination.

Apparently his letter-writing skills are quite good, too. According to Aronofsky, “The Boss called Mickey in the middle of the night and said, ‘I’m in Europe and I’m touring, and I don’t know if I can do this, but if I can, I’ll try something.’ “

About a month later, the duo went to see Springsteen in concert at Giants Stadium. After Rourke introduced his director to the Boss, Springsteen picked up his guitar and proceeded to play the now award-winning tune.

“I literally got stage fright,” Aronofsky said. “I never knew what stage fright was! My chin just went down, and I said in my head, ‘Oh my God, I’m freezing up in front of Bruce Springsteen.'”

“Then he played the song,” said Rourke. “Right,” said Aronofsky. “Then we started talking, and then he played the song, and it was amazing. And he’s like, ‘I don’t know if it’s good yet.’ “

Apparently, the Golden Globe voters thought it was! “

Anyway, he’s a normal guy,” Aronofsky said. “And then he gave us the song for free.”


Have you ever seen a one trick pony in the field so happy and free?
If you’ve ever seen a one trick pony then you’ve seen me
Have you ever seen a one-legged dog making its way down the street?
If you’ve ever seen a one-legged dog then you’ve seen me

Then you’ve seen me, I come and stand at every door
Then you’ve seen me, I always leave with less than I had before
Then you’ve seen me, bet I can make you smile when the blood, it hits the floor
Tell me, friend, can you ask for anything more?
Tell me can you ask for anything more?

Have you ever seen a scarecrow filled with nothing but dust and wheat?
If you’ve ever seen that scarecrow then you’ve seen me
Have you ever seen a one-armed man punching at nothing but the breeze?
If you’ve ever seen a one-armed man then you’ve seen me

Then you’ve seen me, I come and stand at every door
Then you’ve seen me, I always leave with less than I had before
Then you’ve seen me, bet I can make you smile when the blood, it hits the floor
Tell me, friend, can you ask for anything more?
Tell me can you ask for anything more?

These things that have comforted me, I drive away
This place that is my home I cannot stay
My only faith’s in the broken bones and bruises I display

Have you ever seen a one-legged man trying to dance his way free?
If you’ve ever seen a one-legged man then you’ve seen me



Bruce Springsteen – The Wrestler (full version)



NOTE:

We do not host any files here. If this post contains a link to content hosted elsewhere, this is content found by a simple search on the worldwide freedom web. However, if for some valid reason, you object to a said content, or any content here, please let us know and we will remove the content in question.

Any content linked to here is only meant as a taster for the original work itself and is posted on the strict understanding that anyone who downloads the taster, deletes said content within 24 hours. We would assume that these fans will then buy the original work and we greatly encourage them to do so.

Mail us: stupidand@gmail.com

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

January 19, 2009 - Posted by | Bruce Springsteen, Darren Aronofsky, Marisa Tomei, Mickey Rourke, Music_ClassicRock, _CINEMA, _MUSIC, _VIDEO

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

