STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from stupidd.blogspot.com !

Leonard Cohen – First we take Manhattan, Beacon Theatre New York

by TrevMurphy
I’d really like to live beside you, baby, I love your body and your spirit and your clothes

Lenny takes Manhattan with First we take Manhattan at the Beacon Theatre on February 19th, 2009 !

Next he’ll take Berlin!

A typically wonderful performance of this classic track by Lenny and his amazing band!

by Steiner62

from leonardcohen.com

As Leonard Cohen took to the historic Beacon Theatre stage Thursday in New York for his first stateside performance in fifteen years, AEG Live announced a run of North American engagements including dates throughout Canada and a sunset performance at the Coachella Festival in Indio, California. Tickets go on sale to the Canadian public beginning March 2, 2009. CBC Radio 2 is the Canadian broadcast presenter of the Leonard Cohen World Tour 2009.

The North American engagements will extend the phenomenal series of performances Mr. Cohen performed recently in the UK, Europe, Australia and Canada. The performances have been overwhelmingly received abroad, with over 80 five star reviews. As the London Daily Telegraph plainly stated, it is “an extraordinary night of music.”

As he has been throughout his most recent tour, Mr. Cohen will be joined by Sharon Robinson and the Webb Sisters – who have wowed crowds around the world with their rich and complementary background vocals. Also joining Mr. Cohen on stage are Roscoe Beck (bass, vocals), Neil Larsen (keyboards & Hammond B3 accordion), Bob Metzger (electric, acoustic & pedal steel guitar), Javier Mas (bandurria, laud, archilaud, 12 string acoustic guitar), Rafael Gayol (drums, percussion), Dino Soldo (sax, clarinet, dobro, keys).

Members of Best Buy Canada’s Reward Zone loyalty program will have the opportunity to purchase tickets to select Canadian concert dates three days before they go on sale to the general public. For full details go to: www.bestbuyrewardzone.ca.


art by Zero-Wing

Leonard Cohen – First we take Manhattan


They sentenced me to twenty years of boredom
For trying to change the system from within
I’m coming now, I’m coming to reward them
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’m guided by a signal in the heavens
I’m guided by this birthmark on my skin
I’m guided by the beauty of our weapons
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’d really like to live beside you, baby
I love your body and your spirit and your clothes
But you see that line there moving through the station?
I told you, I told you, told you, I was one of those

Ah you loved me as a loser, but now you’re worried that I just might win
You know the way to stop me, but you don’t have the discipline
How many nights I prayed for this, to let my work begin
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I don’t like your fashion business mister
And I don’t like these drugs that keep you thin
I don’t like what happened to my sister
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’d really like to live beside you, baby …

And I thank you for those items that you sent me
The monkey and the plywood violin
I practiced every night, now I’m ready
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I am guided

Ah remember me, I used to live for music
Remember me, I brought your groceries in
Well it’s Father’s Day and everybody’s wounded
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

(L. Cohen) Stranger Music, Inc.



Audio Clip from leonardcohen.com

First We Take Manhattan

HI | MID | LO
[Windows Media]


NOTE:

We do not host any files here. If this post contains a link to content hosted elsewhere, this is content found by a simple search on the worldwide freedom web. However, if for some valid reason, you object to a said content, or any content here, please let us know and we will remove the content in question.

Any content linked to here is only meant as a taster for the original work itself and is posted on the strict understanding that anyone who downloads the taster, deletes said content within 24 hours. We would assume that these fans will then buy the original work and we greatly encourage them to do so.

Mail us: stupidand@gmail.com

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Music Videos Other

February 25, 2009 - Posted by | Leonard Cohen, _ART, _MUSIC, _PHOTOGRAPHY, _POETRY, _VIDEO

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

