STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from stupidd.blogspot.com !

TTRH3.17 Bob Dylan TTRH Season 3 Ep 17 ‘Cops & Robbers’


Bob Dylan’s Theme Time Radio Hour

Season 3

Episode 17

Cops & Robbers

Original Airdate February 18, 2009

(Streaming Country Pie Vers.)

Mp3 @ 256 kbps/ 116 MB/ RS + ES

Absolute Sound Recorder > Sound Forge 6.0 > FLAC Frontend


Theme Time Radio Hour, your home for Police
Dreams, Convict Themes and Stir Schemes






Let’s start on the straight and narrow


In Sweden the number’s 80000. I don’t see how that saves any time!





There’s no helping some people!



It worked out well for everybody. Well, except maybe for Decca Records.








This was years before he walked down Electric Avenue.


Let’s cross over to the other side of the law now. That’s where you find the really interesting people.



Breakin’ rocks in the hot sun
I fought the law and the law won
I fougth the law and the law won

I needed money ’cause I had none
I fought the law and the law won
I fought the law and the law won

I miss my baby and I feel so bad
I guess my race is run
She was the best girl that I ever had
I fought the law and the law won
I fought the law and the law won

Robbin’ people with a six-gun
I fought the law and the law won
I fought the law and the law won

I miss my baby and the good fun
I fought the law and the law won
I fought the law and the law won

I miss my baby and I feel so bad
I guess my race is run
She was the best girl that I ever had
I fought the law and the law won
I fought the law and the law won

Sonny Curtis




I think I got this for a quarter. And I’m giving it to you for free.


I’ve got a friend named Stan. He’s not very smart.



If you’ll gather ’round me, children,
A story I will tell
‘Bout Pretty Boy Floyd, an outlaw,
Oklahoma knew him well.

It was in the town of Shawnee,
A Saturday afternoon,
His wife beside him in his wagon
As into town they rode.

There a deputy sheriff approached him
In a manner rather rude,
Vulgar words of anger,
An’ his wife she overheard.

Pretty Boy grabbed a log chain,
And the deputy grabbed his gun;
In the fight that followed
He laid that deputy down.

Then he took to the trees and timber
To live a life of shame;
Every crime in Oklahoma
Was added to his name.

But a many a starving farmer
The same old story told
How the outlaw paid their mortgage
And saved their little homes.

Others tell you ’bout a stranger
That come to beg a meal,
Underneath his napkin
Left a thousand dollar bill.

It was in Oklahoma City,
It was on a Christmas Day,
There was a whole car load of groceries
Come with a note to say:

Well, you say that I’m an outlaw,
You say that I’m a thief.
Here’s a Christmas dinner
For the families on relief.

Yes, as through this world I’ve wandered
I’ve seen lots of funny men;
Some will rob you with a six-gun,
And some with a fountain pen.

And as through your life you travel,
Yes, as through your life you roam,
You won’t never see an outlaw
Drive a family from their home.

– Woody Guthrie


I wanted to talk about Jack the Ripper. I wanted to talk about Don King.


I fought the law and guess who won.




Well I’m running police on my back
I’ve been hiding police on my back
There was a shooting police on my back
And the victim well he wont come back

What have I done?

I been running monday tuesday wednesday
Thursday friday saturday sunday runnin
Monday tuesday wednesday thursday friday
Saturday sunday

Yes, I’m running down the railway track
Could you help me? police on my back
They will catch me if I dare drop back
Wont you give me all the speed I lack

– Eddy Grant



That’s what we call a “way homer”.



We’re going to play one quarter of his recorded output.


You’re not going to believe this story.







That’s not just a law. That’s just common sense.


Whenever a law is broken you can be sure that we’ll be there. I’m not going to tell you which side we’re going to be on. But we’ll be there.






Tracklisting

No “Nightime In The Big City” intro, Highway Patrol snippet
Bob talks about today’s theme, “people on both sides of the law”
Nat King Cole Trio – Call The Police
Bob talks about the history of “911”, and international number
Corny joke about “911”
Red Simpson – The Highway Patrol
Another corny joke about “knitting”: “pullover? “no,… socks”
Willie Walker – Dupree Blues
Radio clip
Bob talks about Dostoyevsky and “Crime & Punishment”
Billy Bragg And Wilco – Against Th’ Law
Bob talks about unusual State Laws
Bob talks about the history of Buddy Holly & The Crickets
The Crickets – I Fought The Law
The Miranda Rights
Promo from Mr. Scarface
The origin of the word “cop”
Freddie Hall And His Band – This Crooked World (sold for $214 on E-Bay)
Ricky Jay talks about Titanic Thompson
Bob talks about famous sheriffs of the Old West, and modern day sheriffs
Bob talks about Jesse James
Bascolm Lamar Lundsford – Poor Jesse James
Bob talks about Charles Ford: “Prettyboy Floyd” the outlaw (Bob recorded this song about him)
The Byrds – Pretty Boy Floyd
Bob makes a joke about taxation
The Coasters – Bad Detective
Steve Earle talks about Fred Gomez Carrasco
Los Socios de San Antonio – La Muerte de Fred Gomez Carrasco (song is in Spanish)
Bob talks about Eddie Grant
Eddie Grant & The Equals – Police On My Back
Bob talks about House Arrest
More Ricky Jay talking about Titanic Thompson
Smiley Lewis – Dirty People
Bob talks about the Public Enemy list and the 10 Most Wanted list
Merle Haggard – I’m a Lonesome Fugitive
In the “outro”, titles are given in a Cops & Robbers theme! Bob is “The Commissioner”.

Next Week: Candy

Here she be Dylanite dogs !


The full show on one mp3;


http://www.sendspace.com/file/f0suls

Various individual show components recorded as individual mp3s

http://rapidshare.com/files/200259196/3 … 2-2009.zip



Big thanks to blindwilly / charlespoet!




March 3, 2009 - Posted by | TTRH Season 3, _ART, _BOB DYLAN, _Bob Dylan's Theme Time Radio Hour, _MUSIC, _POETRY

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

