STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from stupidd.blogspot.com !

The Go-Betweens – Head Full of Steam

The Go-Betweens – Head Full Of Steam
1986, Beggars Banquet
mp3/ RS


She locked the door and the key, opened the windows for the neighbours to see her climb on my knee

Another sublime Robert Forster moment from the Go-Betweens’ seminal LP Liberty Belle And The Black Diamond Express.

Typically wonderful Forster poetry here splattered with hilarious abstract non-sequiters – the likes of “Her father works, her mother works in exports but that’s of no importance at all !

Surely the antithesis of your cliched love/ lust song!

Liberty Belle, the fourth album by the Go-Betweens, was released in 1986 in the UK on Beggars Banquet Records.

The album was recorded at Berry Street Studios in London and consisted of ten wonderful songs, the best of which being another Forster classic “Spring Rain”.

The album was produced by the Go-Betweens and Richard Preston, with the GB’s then being;

Robert Forster: Guitar & Vocals
Grant McLennan: Guitar & Vocals
Robert Vickers: Bass
Lindy Morrison: Drums

Tracey Thorn (Everything But the Girl) provides the backing vocals on this track.


Can I come to your place and can I wash your hair?

We were delighted to find the vid posted on Youtube as, amazingly, we’d never ever seen it!

Then later we were almost sad we found it! Almost!

Now we know why we’d never seen this before. Or nobody had!

Robert’s at his most, let’s say, outré here! No, we don’t mean he looks like he’s just back from the gay Mardi Gras! Well, not necessarily!

We won’t speak of the Grant wig and outfit either!

We’ll give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that copious drugs were being taken during the concept phase and also before and during the shoot, and that the plan was to take the piss out of all those OTT New Romantic bands popular at the time.




art by homigl14

Head Full of Steam – Robert Forster

I’d never met her type she ignored me and that’s alright
Never to be friends or my body lie on her floor
Her father works
Her mother works in exports
But that’s of no importance at all
I don’t mind
I don’t mind

To chase her
A fools dream
I’m 104 degrees
With a Head Full of Steam
All waiting’s up
I’m on that team
That says go forward
With a Head Full of Steam

She plays hard to get along with
But she might drop by
She never had a nickname
But then nor have I
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
To chase her
A fools dream
I’m 104 degrees
With a Head Full of Steam

All waiting’s up
I’m on that team
That says go forward
With a Head Full of Steam

Steam may rise
Steam
may deck
Can I come to your place
and can I wash your hair?


I’d never met her type
She locked the door and the key
Opened the windows for the neighbours to see
Her climb on my knee
To chase her
A fools dream
I’m 104 degrees
With a Head Full of Steam

All waitings up
I’m on that team
That says go forward
With a Head Full of Steam
Go Forward
Go forward now
Go forward
Go forward now




thanks jteglund

The Go-Betweens – Head Full Of Steam
1986, Beggars Banquet


Side One:
Head Full Of Steam

Side Two:
Don’t Let Him Come Back (new version)
The Wrong Road (early version) 12″ only

Released as 7″ and 12″ vinyl single in May 1986:

UK 7″: Beggars Banquet BEG 159
UK 12″: Beggars Banquet BEG 159 T

Here she be

March 5, 2009 - Posted by | Canon, Go-Betweens, Robert Forster, Tracey Thorn, _ART, _BABE, _MUSIC, _POETRY

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

