STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from stupidd.blogspot.com !

TTRH3.18 Bob Dylan TTRH Season 3 Ep 18 ‘Sugar & Candy’


Bob Dylan’s Theme Time Radio Hour

Season 3

Episode 18

Sugar & Candy

Original Airdate February 25, 2009

(Streaming Country Pie Vers.)

Mp3 @ 256 kbps/ 116 MB/ RS + ES

Absolute Sound Recorder > Sound Forge 6.0 > FLAC Frontend


Theme Time Radio Hour, your home for sugary
Dreams, chocolate Themes and sucrose Schemes


by lidlshmidl




It’ll be no surprise to you that we’re coming from Costa Rica this week



I don’t know anything about Ray Batts. Except this song.







Delmore Schwartz, candy covered poet.

If you gotta go to jail, don’t tell them you’re in there for stealing sugar!







Listen to that Bo Diddley beat.

Sammy what were you thinking?




I’ve got a secret
I ain’t gonna tell
I’m goin’ to heaven in a split pea shell
Oh, Lordy me, didn’t we shake sugaree
Everything I have is down in pawn

I pawned my watch, an’ I pawned my chain
[Even I don’t deserve myself, so ?] ashamed
Oh, Lordy me, didn’t we shake sugaree
Everything I have is down in pawn

I’ve got a song to sing
Ain’t very long
I’m gonna sing it right if it take me all night long
Oh, Lordy me, didn’t we shake sugaree
Everything I have is down in pawn

I’ve got a secret
I ain’t gonna tell
I’m goin’ to heaven in a split pea shell
Oh, Lordy me, didn’t we shake sugaree
Everything I have is down in pawn

– Elizabeth Cotten





I guess this blows our chance of doing an entire bear show.


I don’t know much about the medieval lollipop.




Here lies the powder and perfume
The pretty clothes are scattered ’round the room
And it’s so like Candy

Here lies the lipstick and the face
The coloured tablets keep it all in place
And it’s so like Candy
So like Candy

What did I do to make her go
Why must she be the one
That I have to love
So like Candy

Here lies a picture of a girl
Her arms are tight around that lucky guy
And it’s so like Candy

And in her eyes a certain look
I thought I’d seen the last of long ago
And it’s so like Candy
So like Candy

I remember the day that picture was taken
We were so happy then
But that’s so like Candy
She seemed so sweet to me I was mistaken
Oh no not that again
But that’s so like Candy
She just can’t face the day
So she turns and melts away

Here lie the records that she scratched
And on the sleeve I find a note attached
And it’s so like Candy
“My Darling Dear it’s such a waste”
She couldn’t say “goodbye”, but “I admire your taste”
And it’s so like Candy
So like Candy


– Elvis Costello / Paul McCartney





Francis Copolla is opening a new vineyard down here and he invited us down. And I’d do anything for Francis.

What was he doing for those twenty years? Mostly fishing. And they called him ‘Lazy’?




In the Big Rock Candy Mountains
There’s a land that’s fair and bright
Where the handouts grow on bushes
And you sleep out ev’ry night
Where the boxcars are all empty
And the sun shines ev’ry day
Oh, I’m bound to go where there ain’t no snow
Where the rain don’t fall and the wind don’t blow
In the Big Rock Candy Mountains.

Oh, the buzzin’ of the bees in the peppermint trees
‘Round the soda water fountains
Where the lemonade springs and the bluebird sings
In the Big Rock Candy Mountains

In the Big Rock Candy Mountains
You never change your socks
And little streams of lemonade
Come a-tricklin’ down the rocks
The hobos there are friendly
And their fires all burn bright
There’s a lake of stew …and soda, too
You can paddle all around ’em in a big canoe
In the Big Rock Candy Mountains.

Oh, the buzzin’ of the bees in the peppermint trees
‘Round the soda water fountains
Where the lemonade springs and the bluebird sings
In the Big Rock Candy Mountains


– Harry Mc Clintock




Well Candy, you’re not dreaming. And you’re not crazy.

I think here at TTRH we’re all grown ups, so why don’t we listen to the original version.




It’s not that I like old music. It’s just that I’m not hearing anything like that from out of left field nowadays.

Listen to the drums on this record. They’re quite good ….. You owe me five bucks, Jim!






Tracklisting

01 Opening
02 The Honeydripper – Joe Liggins
03 “Sugar Coated Poet”
04 “Elizabeth Cotton”
05 Shake Sugaree – Elizabeth Cotton
06 Sugar Magnolia – Grateful Dead
07 “Great Shakes and Lollipops”
08 My Boy Lollipop – Millie Small
09 “Consuming Sugar”
10 Sugar Coated Love – Lazy Lester
11 Stealin’ Sugar – Ray Batts
12 “Sucrose”
13 Sugar Town – Lara And The Trailers
14 If Sugar Was As Sweet As You – Joe Tex
15 “Sugar Substitutes/Lets All Go To The Lobby/The Strangeloves”
16 I Want Candy – The Strangeloves
17 Phone Call From Candy”
18 The Big Rock Candy Mountain – Harry McClintock
19 “Give Up Candy”
20 Candy – The Astors
21 “Famous Candies”
22 So Like Candy – Elvis Costello
23 Sugar Bee – Cleveland Croche And The Sugar Bees
24 “Willy Wonka”
25 Candy Man – Dave Van Ronk
26 Closing/End Credits

Next Week??? : Questions ???

Here she be Dylanite dogs !


The full show on one mp3;

http://www.sendspace.com/file/4e0mhc

Various individual show components recorded as individual mp3s

http://rapidshare.com/files/202972851/3 … 2-2009.zip\



Big thanks to blindwilly / charlespoet!




March 5, 2009 - Posted by | TTRH Season 3, _ART, _BOB DYLAN, _Bob Dylan's Theme Time Radio Hour, _MUSIC, _POETRY

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

