STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Iggy Pop & James Williamson: Kill City (1977)

Iggy Pop & James Williamson: Kill City (1977)
MP3 / 44mb / Length 32:00
Released 1977 / Recorded 1975
Genre Proto-punk, Glam Rock, Detroit Rock
Label Bomp Records/ Radar Records
Producer James Williamson

Kill City is a 1977 release by the Iggster and Stooges guitarist James Williamson.

Kill City coverBy 1974, Pop and most of the Stooges were strung out on drugs, and with their star fading, the band called it quits for a second (and final) time.

After spending a brief spell homeless on the streets of Hollywood (during which time there was an unsuccessful attempt to form a band with Pop and former Doors keyboardist Ray Manzarek), Pop checked himself into the Neuropsychiatric Institute in Los Angeles. During his stay at the hospital, Pop made an attempt at writing and recording some new tunes with Williamson.

They made a series of studio demos to shop to labels in hopes of getting a contract. However, when no labels expressed interest, Pop and Williamson went their separate ways as well.

These are the completed demos of the sessions released as Kill City in 1977. The demos would also appear on the 2005 compilation Penetration, which also featured a number of widely circulated demos, outtakes, and alternate mixes from the Stooges’ Raw Power sessions.

Notable is the fact that “Johanna” and “I Got Nothin'” were both recorded previously by the James Williamson-era Stooges.

Iggy’s vocals were recorded on weekends when he got permission to leave a mental hospital for treatment of heroin addiction. There would be no takes until James Williamson got an advance from Bomp to release the album; some of which was used to remix the original recordings.

Pop later appeared as himself on the infamous Tales from the Crypt TV series and preformed the title track.

Some reviews here;


1. “Kill City” – 2:20
2. “Sell Your Love” – 3:36
3. “Night Theme” – 3:00
4. “I Got Nothin'” – 3:23
5. “Johanna” – 3:03
6. “Night Theme” – 1:20
7. “Night Theme (Reprise)” – 1:04
8. “Consolation Prizes” – 3:17
9. “No Sense Of Crime” – 3:42
10. “Lucky Monkeys” – 3:37
11. “Master Charge” – 4:33

All tracks written by Pop/Williamson; except “Master Charge” by Scott Thurston


* Iggy Pop – Vocals
* James Williamson – Guitar, Vocals, Producer, Mixing
* Scott Thurston – Bass, Guitar, Harmonica, Keyboards, Sound Effects, Special Effects, Vocals, Vocals (bckgr) on “Kill City”, “Night Theme”, “Johanna” & “Night Theme”
* Brian Glascock – Percussion, Conga, Drums, Vocals, Vocals (bckgr), Guiro
* John Harden – Saxophone
* Hunt Sales – Drums, Vocals (bckgr) on “Lucky Monkeys” & ” Master Charge”
* Tony Sales – Bass, Drums, Vocals (bckgr) on “Lucky Monkeys” & ” Master Charge”
* Steve Tranio – Bass on “Sell Your Love”, “I Got Nothin'” & “Lucky Monkeys”
* Ganya – Background vocals on “Night Theme” & “Night Theme (Reprise)”

Here she be:

Kill City

Big thanks to the original poster

Mail us:

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

July 23, 2008 Posted by | ames Williamson, Iggy Pop, Music_Alternative, Music_Punk, _MUSIC | Leave a comment