STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Charlie Louvin – Steps to Heaven (2008)

Charlie Louvin – Steps to Heaven (2008)

An amazing album from one of the stalwarts of folk music, of country music … of all music!

One question though … why the fuck is Bob Dylan not on here, to pay rightful tribute to an artist who has been hugely influential on him (and thousands others!)? Charlie’s over 80 now, so there won’t be to many more fucking chances!

2007 saw Louvin celebrate his 80th birthday amidst a swirl of activity around the release of his first studio album in ten years, Charlie Louvin. Grammy-nominated for Best Traditional Folk Album, the disc features George Jones, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy, Will Oldham, Elvis Costello and many others.

Charlie toured and recorded with Lucinda Williams, made a video for the song “Ira”, released a field recording of one of his many in-store performances, Live at Shake It Records, played over 100 concert dates sharing stages with Ryan Adams and Neko Case, appeared on giant festivals like Bonnaroo and Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, and placed a medallion around Emmylou Harris’ neck inducting her into the Country Music Hall of Fame. Charlie’s self-titled album earned 4 out of 5 stars in Uncut and Mojo Magazine, and sparked a bevy of great press and renewed interest in his fascinating career.

Instead of hanging back at age 80, Charlie has instead chosen to challenge himself. Steps to Heaven was recorded live with a gospel choir comprised of three sisters, journeyman gospel pianist Derrick Lee, and Chris Scruggs adding doghouse bass and electric guitar. Louvin had never recorded with black gospel musicians before, and in doing so discovered a new musical path. “I did things on the gospel record I had no idea I could do. I’d be thinking along the way, `How can I do things I’ve never done before?’ And I did it.”


1. Love at Home
2. How Beautiful Heaven Must Be
3. Precious Lord, Take My Hand
4. There’s a Higher Power
5. Where We’ll Never Grow Old
6. If We Never Meet Again This Side of Heaven
7. Jest Rehearsing
8. When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder
9. I Feel Like Traveling On
10. I Am Bound for the Promised Land

Big thanks to Victory for this amazing post

We do not host any files here. If this post contains a link to content hosted elsewhere, this is content found by a simple search on the worldwide freedom web. However, if for some valid reason, you object to a said content, or any content here, please let us know and we will remove the content in question.

Any content linked to here is only meant as a taster for the original work itself and is posted on the strict understanding that anyone who downloads the taster, deletes said content within 24 hours. We would assume that these fans will then buy the original work and we greatly encourage them to do so.

Mail us:

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

October 9, 2008 Posted by | Charlie Louvin, Elvis Costello, George Jones, Jeff Tweedy, Music_Country, Music_Folk, Music_Gospel, Will Oldham, _MUSIC | Leave a comment