STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Embrace (Ian MacKaye et al) – Embrace (1987)
Embrace (Ian MacKaye et al) – Embrace (1987)
MPEG Layer III LAME 3.97 V2: preset standard (fast mode)

A hard to find album from Embrace. Don’t worry it’s not the whinging Oasis-like Britpop band Embrace, but the Washington, D.C punk band Ian MacKaye was in after Minor Threat and before Fugazi.

Embrace was a short-lived post-hardcore band from Washington, D.C., which lasted from the summer of 1985 to the spring of 1986 and was one of the first bands to be dubbed in the press as emotive hardcore, though the members had rejected the term since its creation.

The band included Ian MacKaye of Minor Threat with three former members of his brother Alec’s band The Faith: guitarist Michael Hampton, drummer Ivor Hanson, and bassist Chris Bald. The only recording released by the quartet was their self-titled album Embrace.

Following the breakup of Embrace, MacKaye rejoined former Minor Threat drummer Jeff Nelson to form Egg Hunt. Bald moved on to the band Ignition, and drummer Ivor Hanson paired up with Hampton again in 1992 for Manifesto.

During the band’s formative years, some fans started referring to their and fellow innovators Rites of Spring’s music as emocore, a term vocalist Ian MacKaye publicly disagreed with

The LP Embrace was their only album and was released in 1987.

The LP was compiled from the only two studio sessions the band recorded. The first eleven tracks were laid down in November 1985, and the other three were done in February 1986. All of the songs were recorded at Inner Ear Studios and featured the same lineup.

Originally released on cassette tape and vinyl, it was released on CD in 1992 as Dischord number 24CD. In May 2002, the CD was re-mastered with two extra tracks, previously unreleased alternate versions of “Money” and “Dance of Days” taken from the first recording session.


1. “Give Me Back” – 2:32
2. “Dance of Days” – 2:16
3. “Building” – 1:58
4. “Past” – 1:53
5. “Spoke'” – 2:00
6. “Do Not Consider Yourself Free” – 2:23
7. “No More Pain” – 3:11
8. “I Wish I” – 2:11
9. “Said Gun” – 2:11
10. “Can’t Forgive” – 2:31
11. “Money” – 2:37
12. “If I Never Thought About It” – 2:32
13. “End of a Year” – 2:36
14. “Last Song” – 2:27
Embrace this, motherfuckers!


Big thanks to burn

Mail us:

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

August 19, 2008 Posted by | Embrace, Fugazi, Ian MacKaye, Minor Threat, Music_Punk, _MUSIC | 3 Comments