STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Four Tet – Pause (2001) (@320)

Four Tet – Pause
released in 2001
MP3 / 320 kbps / 84.63 mb

Another album we liked a lot a few years ago.’s Best of 2001;

Kieran Hebden is, it has to be said, something of a genius. The groundwork for Pause was laid when Dialogue–his debut solo album under the guise of Four Tet–landed in 1999, an album that redrew the parameters of inventive dance music.

A peculiar mix of live-sounding instrumental jazz and technologically super-precise laptop dance trickery, it sounded nothing like Hebden’s actual group–the post-rockers Fridge–and, as it happened, very little like anything else in existence. Where Dialogue employed jazz sax and flute in its evocation of a 21st-century jazz meltdown, Pause goes even further, coiling whispers of harp and zither over layer-on-layers of fidgeting, rattling percussion.

His inspirations? Well, like his friend and protégé:, Canadian tech-wizard Manitoba (whose Start Breaking My Heart is easily the equal of Pause), Hebden collects sounds and melodies from a dizzying array of places–ancient British folk music, the rattle of typewriter keys, the gurgle of running water, even a field recording of a children’s playground. Genius? There really is no other word for it.

-Louis Pattison


1. Glue Of The World
2. Twenty Three
3. Harmony One
4. Parks
5. Leila Came Round And We Watched A Video
6. Untangle
7. Everything Is Alright
8. No More Mosquitoes
9. Tangle
10. You Could Ruin My Day
11. Hilarious Movie Of The 90’s

Here she be:…

Big thanks to Runman and the original poster

We do not host any files here. If this post contains a link to content hosted elsewhere, this is content found by a simple search on the worldwide freedom web. However, if for some valid reason, you object to a said content, or any content here, please let us know and we will remove the content in question.

Any content linked to here is only meant as a taster for the original work itself and is posted on the strict understanding that anyone who downloads the taster, deletes said content within 24 hours. We would assume that these fans will then buy the original work and we greatly encourage them to do so.

Mail us:

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

October 1, 2008 Posted by | Four Tet, Kieran Hebden, Music_Ambient, Music_Electronica, _MUSIC | Leave a comment