STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Stereolab – Chemical Chords (08/2008)

Stereolab – Chemical Chords (08/2008)
Released on 18th August 2008 by Duophonic UHF Disks/4AD.
A pioneering and innovative band we really liked back in the day! We’re delighted that they’re still together and releasing music!

Chemical Chords’ is the first album proper since 2004’s ‘Margerine Eclipse’, and emerged from songwriter Tim Gane messing around with 70 tiny drum loops. It’s generally poppier than their previous Krautrock influenced albums – ‘Self-portrait With “Electric Brain”’, ‘Daisy Click Clack’ are particularly immediate.

Some songs follow the ‘lab blueprint faithfully, like ‘Neon Beanbag’ and ‘Fractal Dream Of A Thing’. Others branch out altogether, like ‘Nous Vous Demandon Pardon’, with its pace and squelchy, dancefloor friendly bassline.

But French lounge is the persistent influence, helped along by string and brass arrangements from Sean O’Hagan. These provide fresh layers to the ‘lab sound, and the record’s highlights, including the title track, for example, and ‘Cellulose Sunshine’, with euphoric piano, strings and singing in the round), while ‘Vortical Phonotheque’’s bassline and building keyboard motif recalls Air in its blessed out loveliness.

by James Farrell.


1. Neon Beanbag
2. Three Women
3. One Finger Symphony
4. Chemical Chords
5. The Ecstatic Static
6. Valley Hi!
7. Silver Sands
8. Pop Molecule [Molecular Pop 1]
9. Self Portrait With “Electric Brain”
10. Nous Vous Demandons Pardon
11. Cellulose Sunshine
12. Fractal Dream Of A Thing
13. Daisy Click Clack
14. Vortical Phonothèque

Mail us:

Home Art Babes Cartoons Dylan Editorial Music Videos Other

July 31, 2008 Posted by | Music_Alternative, Music_PostRock, Stereolab, _MUSIC | 1 Comment