STUPID and Contagious

Our holiday home from !

Richard Hell – R.I.P. The ROIR Sessions (1986)

Richard Hell – R.I.P. The ROIR Sessions (1986)

The Richard Hell compilation R.I.P.: The ROIR Sessions was originally released in 1984 as a cassette-only release and was later re-released on CD (different cover, same track listing).

R.I.P. collects a total of 14 tracks (most studio, some live) and serves as a solid anthology/greatest-hits compilation.

She stood across the river still
calling me to come and make the kill.
I dove in with hopes no one could fill
and the hunter was drowned.
The doe stepped from the forest smiling slight
across the river in the morning light.
The hunter felt his heart leap into flight
but the hunter was drowned.

The selections span Dick’s career from 1975-1984, from one of his first bands (the legendary Heartbreakers with Johnny Thunders) up until a later incarnation of the Voidoids.

The sound quality is consistent for the most part, and the music is rough, raw, and rocking — in other words, classic Richard Hell.

An early version of “Love Comes in Spurts” kicks off the album, and with a Heartbreakers’ backup, is proof that Hell would have made a more-than-capable leader of the band (Thunders eventually gained control, effectively ending the original lineup).

Also included is the depressed ballad “Betrayal Takes Two,” the N.Y. new wave of “I’m Your Man,” as well as the saxophone-laced “The Hunter Was Drowned.”

One big criticism of R.I.P. is the omission of Hell’s best song, “Blank Generation,” but otherwise it’s highly recommended.


1 Love Comes in Spurts 2:35

2 Can’t Keep My Eyes on You 3:16

3 Hurt Me 3:48

4 I’m Your Man 2:51

5 Betrayal Takes Two 5:13

6 Crack of Dawn 2:13

7 Ignore That Door 3:10

8 I Live My Life 2:11

9 Going, Going, Gone 2:33

10 I Can Only Give You Everything 3:14

11 I Been Sleepin’ on It 2:59

12 Cruel Way to Go Down 4:21

13 The Hunter Was Drowned 3:26

14 Hey Sweetheart 0:30

Here she be;


thanks geranium-rollmops.blogspot

April 18, 2008 Posted by | Music_Punk, Richard Hell, The Voidoids, _MUSIC | Leave a comment